Chair's Message

Welcome to the University of Kentucky's Department of Political Science.

Faculty in the Political Science department are renowned for top-level scholarship, teaching excellence, and service to the Commonwealth and beyond.  Faculty members consistently publish work in the leading journals and presses, and have received dozens of awards for both research and instruction.

Serving around 400 undergraduate majors and 130 minors, we are strongly committed to educational excellence.  Our instructors share their passion with students inside and outside the classroom -- working to engage students with coursework, sponsoring campus-wide events, advising student organizations, and mentoring undergraduate researchers.  Our students have ample opportunity to serve as interns and to engage in scholarship.

Our graduate training focuses on American Politics, International Relations, Comparative Politics, and Methods.  Small graduate-student cohorts allow for close mentoring and substantial co-authorship opportunities. Our faculty invest heavily in each student's success.  These investments have led to increasingly impressive graduate-student job placements.

We hope you find valuable information on our website to learn more about our program.  Please feel free to stop by or contact us for additional information.

With best regards from the department,

Clayton Thyne,

Department Chair


Enter your linkblue username.
Enter your linkblue password.
Secure Login

This login is SSL protected